Lindy BNX-60 review – ANC and Bluetooth for £90

  Bluetooth headphones aren’t particularly new as technology goes. Many still use the standard wired earphones that use the standard 3.5mm jack – they’re easy, and they’re cheap. To listen to music, I always used whatever I could find on Amazon. For me, this worked fine. I never thought I’d buy anything different, and I never really looked at alternatives. I only really knew about Bluetooth headphones because they were sold in supermarkets, and because of the occasional advertisement on the internet. They never really caught my eye – I never thought Bluetooth could be as good as using a cable. 

  It was only when I started to use more Bluetooth devices that I began to wonder if these headphones could actually be worth the extra money. The introduction of Bluetooth connectivity with car radios and other devices such as smartwatches made me reconsider my choices – could Bluetooth be better than a cable? I didn’t really have time to dwell on this too much. This was due to the earphones I was using at the time deciding to break. I took this as the perfect opportunity to try out some Bluetooth headphones – but which ones to buy? 

  This is where the Lindy BNX-60 Bluetooth Active Noise Cancelling Headphones come in. Before buying headphones, I took a quick look on “What Hi-Fi?”, a popular and trustworthy review site. They strongly recommended these headphones, giving them a 5 star review (which isn’t too common on their site – I’ll link the review below).  Needless to say, a pair were on their way to my address soon after I read their thoughts on these headphones.                                                                                  

  Once these had arrived at my door, I took a look inside the box. Even after reading the “What Hi-Fi?” review, I didn’t really expect too much – £90 for ANC and Bluetooth isn’t much, but I was blown away by how high quality everything was (especially considering I had never heard of Lindy). The hard case (which is included) has a nice texture to it, and, surprisingly, doesn’t attract things like crumbs. I keep this case in my schoolbag, and I can say from experience that it does its job well. The headphones also come with a micro-USB charging cable (no socket), a standard 3.5mm-3.5mm cable to connect your headphones if the battery runs flat, some very simple instructions and some warranty/safety information.                                                        

  Now, onto the earphones themselves. One of the first things I noticed about these was the lack of creaking and squeaking that you often get with over or on ear headphones and headsets. This gives a very good impression of the overall build quality. I actually expected a little creaking, but no. The build quality exceeded my expectations. The plastic they used for the casing of the BNX-60s has a smooth, very slightly rubbery texture. It looks very nice for plastic, having a matte finish that isn’t too prone to fingerprints. The leather (I believe it’s genuine) and foam they use to cushion the ears and head is extremely soft, and very comfortable. The foam gives a similar feel to memory foam – it’s slightly softer and reforms a lot faster though. Adjustments are easy with these earphones – the hinges are metal and extend a good distance, the earpieces rotate backwards, up and down, and the headphones do flex slightly to fit almost all head shapes.                                             

  Here I’ll move onto the lower part of the earpieces, where everything seems to be located. The buttons (on the left earpiece) are small, but not too small. They don’t stick out too much, but are still easy to press, and are easily distinguishable thanks to a small bump on the Play/Pause button. The buttons give a nice feedback despite their size, and give a small click when pressed. The LED power indicator, 3.5mm port and microphone (for calls) are located below these buttons, and the USB port is located on the other side of the earpiece. On the right earpiece you will find the ANC (active noise cancellation) switch and the volume rocker. Active noise cancellation is a way of cancelling background noise to make a users listening experience better – from what I gather it takes in background noise from the outside of each earpiece (via some hidden microphones), then plays a sound of a wavelength that cancels out the noise from outside the cups over your ears (clever stuff, I know). Just a quick note though – it’s only really designed to cancel low frequency noises such as jet engines or cars (but I found it perfect for drowning out Drake on the school bus 😉). 

  Testing this feature was amazing. It works fantastically on these headphones. This paired with me, someone who has never experienced witchcraft like this, was just amazing. My journey to and from school is noisy – there’s the bus engine – which is very loud due to lack of thick soundproofing (it’s a Leyland Olympian – not a very modern bus) – there’s people talking and shouting, there’s music, and there’s any other noise you’d associate with 50 teenagers on a bus going home. 

  Putting these on was magical. All engine and wind noise was completely gone, and the remaining noises were drowned out massively. Once music was playing – nothing. Just the music. Amazing. No more chart music forced into my ears again – at least, not on the bus.
  This leads me to the end of this review. I could go into the quality of the bass and treble, and how good the specs are – but I’m not. I’m not an expert when it comes to headphones. All I’ll say is the sound is good – much, much better than £10 Amazon earphones (not to knock Betron – they were okay too). And besides – “What Hi-Fi?” cover the specs really well (link below).
  Thanks for the read.

Links:

http://www.whathifi.com/lindy/bnx-60/review

http://www.whathifi.com/lindy/bnx-60/specs

Leave a Reply

