Hope For The Switch

https://www.youtube.com/shared?ci=SXUuehmDyhk
– Nintendo… Nintendo is that one company that we let get away with stuff, that one company we expect weird novel things from, that one company that has the power and right to do so. And with the Nintendo Switch, in my opinion without even playing one, Nintendo did what it always has done.  This episode of the PhabletGuru Saturday short was made possible by the fact that I have excruciating pain in my shoulder, neck and arm and thus nothing better to do that to dictate a blog out on my Nexus phone. 

-I am not a hardcore gamer, I’m not even really a true gamer in the modern sense of the word. At best I’m a casual gamer, at worst a Nintendo fanboy. I think I’m somewhere in between. That’s not to say I don’t appreciate the gaming world or Nintendo, on the contrary. I respect the technology and art involved in gaming, and I’ve always been a Nintendo fan. Admittedly though, I’ve barely played the Wii U. 

As far as gaming goes, I occasionally get down with some Angry Birds 2! That’s the extent of my gaming these days. With Nintendo however I usually make an exception, specifically, I’m in it for anything Mario. The only game I played briefly on my nephews Wii U was Super Mario 3d world. However, I have extensively played Mario 64, Mario Sunshine, Mario Galaxy, Super Mario World, Super Mario bros 1, 2 & 3, Super Smash bros, Mario Kart, Mario Kart 64 etc..

-This is all backstory however, to inform you that my opinions are not from a gamers perspective. These are my initial thoughts and hopes for the March 2017 release of the Nintendo Switch. Simply put the Nintendo Switch looks cool. I dig the concept. The inner-swapping aspect of the control system looks highly innovative. From 1 to 2 to 4 players and the way the controller handles that… is…. well…. different, in a good way.

-For the sake of you hardcore gamers out there I hope 3rd party support will be thriving. Something that Nintendo has always struggled with in the game department. They survive because of the immense popularity of their first party games like Mario, Zelda, Donkey Kong and Metroid. I also hope for at least 5 hours of screen on time, in the battery department. More would be great, but 5 will do. 

-Lastly, I hope consumers won’t pre-judge Nintendo and not give them a chance. The fact that you can take your game with you on a screen big enough for multiplayer action in such a unique novel way is simply inspiring and awesome. Yes I used the word awesome… Check out the video above and tell me the Switch doesn’t seem awesome.

This PhabletGuru episode of a Saturday short was brought to you in full by bedridden pain. 

Leave a Reply

